About Retroactive Blackouts

Whereas normal blackouts are scheduled for execution at some future point in time, Retroactive Blackouts are scheduled for a specific period in the past. The retroactive application of a blackout is accomplished by modifying the recorded availability data for a target(s).

Why Use Retroactive Blackouts?

There may be situations when managing complex environments where actual target dependencies are not obvious. In this case, attempting to define a blackout becomes problematic, which can have an adverse impact on service availability data. By allowing an Enterprise Manager administrator to retroactively define a blackout, a more accurate picture of complex target availability can be attained.

What is a Retroactive Blackout?

The primary difference between a conventional blackout and a Retroactive Blackout is that a conventional blackout can only be created for the present time onwards. Consequently, a conventional blackout is recorded by Enterprise Manager in the Management Repository as a distinct entity. Retroactive Blackouts are not recorded as actual blackouts in the Repository. Hence, they will not appear on the main Blackout page. Instead, the target availability data for a target(s) is modified to show that the target was in blackout for the past time period specified by the Retroactive Blackout. Creating a Retroactive Blackout has a direct impact on the information displayed on the Target Availability page.

For security purposes, only Enterprise Manager Super Administrators can enable or disable Retroactive Blackout functionality for regular administrators.

 

Related Topics

About Blackouts

Creating a Retroactive Blackout

Enabling Retroactive Blackouts

Enterprise Manager Information Roadmap