Whereas normal blackouts are scheduled for execution at some future point in time, Retroactive Blackouts are scheduled for a specific period in the past. The retroactive application of a blackout is accomplished by modifying the recorded availability data for a target(s).
There may be situations when managing complex environments where actual target dependencies are not obvious. In this case, attempting to define a blackout becomes problematic, which can have an adverse impact on service availability data. By allowing an Enterprise Manager administrator to retroactively define a blackout, a more accurate picture of complex target availability can be attained.
The primary difference between a conventional blackout and a Retroactive Blackout is that a conventional blackout can only be created for the present time onwards. Consequently, a conventional blackout is recorded by Enterprise Manager in the Management Repository as a distinct entity. Retroactive Blackouts are not recorded as actual blackouts in the Repository. Hence, they will not appear on the main Blackout page. Instead, the target availability data for a target(s) is modified to show that the target was in blackout for the past time period specified by the Retroactive Blackout. Creating a Retroactive Blackout has a direct impact on the information displayed on the Target Availability page.
For security purposes, only Enterprise Manager Super Administrators can enable or disable Retroactive Blackout functionality for regular administrators.
Creating a Retroactive Blackout
Enabling Retroactive Blackouts
Enterprise Manager Information Roadmap
Copyright © 1996, 2007, Oracle. All rights reserved.